Seminar Series
Financial Services &


Customer Service
& Marketing
Women In Business
Human Resources



29th Annual Operational Excellence Seminar
October 1-2, 2003.

Speakers / Co-sponsors

Keynote Speakers

Laurence Ackerman
Group Director, Siegel & Gale

Hssow Can Operations be Excellent if you don’t know who you are? Living the Logic of Identity-Based Management

John Kim

President and Chief Operating Officer, Simpler Development, LLC.

Leading the Lean Enterprise Conversion

Tom Mast

Managing Partner, Product Reliability Program

Are Reliable Products and Processes Optional?

John E. Marushin

Director, Alcoa Operations Management Consulting Alcoa, Inc.

What is Changeable ---- What is not Changeable?

Dave Logozzo
Executive Director, Engineering and Manufacturing Operations and Lean Enterprise, Delphi World Headquarters

Lean Leadership: Progressing Along the Journey

Gus Villanueva

F-117 Program Director, Lockheed Martin Aeronautics

A Shared Vision Driven by an Empowered and Innovative Team

Brian Maskell

President, BMA Inc.

Success with Lean Accounting - A Case Study

Concurrent Speakers

Ross Robson
Executive Director, Shingo Prize for Excellence in Manufacturing

Lean: Proven Business Excellence

Todd Middleton
Plant Operations Manager, HON Company

The Long-Term Conversion to a Lean Enterprise

James Wixson
Advisory Engineer, Bechtel-BWXT Idaho, LLC

Building Value into Design and Operations with Value Engineering



Tom Bingham

President/CEO, Utah Manufacturers Association

How to Cut Costs in Tough Times



Jerry Kilpatrick

President, Manufacturing Extension Partnership



Don Reynolds

President, Intelligent Solutions

Scott Valdez

Account Representative, Corporate Express

David R. Dixon

Founder and President, Technical Change Associates, Inc.

Lean and Six Sigma – Beyond the Buzzwords

Clay Wilker

Manager Airbag Inflators, Autoliv Automotive Safety Products

Employee Involvement – the Fuel for Improvement Results


American Society for Quality – Golden Spike Section 620
Ken Jensen, Chair
475 West 13th Street
Ogden, Utah 84404
Phone: (801) 626-4692
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

American Society for Quality – Salt Lake Section 615
Carol Freasier, President
1405 West 9000 South
West Jordan, Utah 84088
Phone: (801) 619-3420
Email: [email protected]
Web site:
APICS – The Educational Society for Resource Management – Salt Lake Chapter
Amy Jerabek, President
2542 Dolphin Way
SLC UT 84121
Phone: (801) 733-4479
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

APICS – The Educational Society for Resource Management – Sundance Chapter
Scott Walker, President
1874 West 1400 South
Orem, Utah 84058
Phone: (801) 234-3803
Email: [email protected]
Web site:
Axeon Incorporated
Scott Weyburn, President
1902 West 5200 South, Suite # 10
Roy, Utah 84067
Phone: (801) 525-9123
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

The Economic Development Corporation of Utah
Christopher A. Roybal, President & CEO
201 South Main Street, Suite 2010
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111
Phone: (801) 328-8824
Email: [email protected]
Web site:
The Manufacturing Extension Partnership – Utah
Jerry Kilpatrick, Director, Client Relations
800 West University Parkway
Orem, Utah 84058-5999
Phone: (801) 863-7902
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

Shingo Prize for Excellence in Manufacturing
Ross Robson, Executive Director
3521 Old Main Hill
College of Business
Utah State University
Logan, Utah 84322-3521
Phone: (435) 797-2279
Email: [email protected]
Web site:
Society of Manufacturing Engineers
Dirk Beckett, Chapter 85 Chair Elect
1063 East 5900 South
Ogden, UT 84405
Phone: (801) 525-3707
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

Utah Manufacturers Association
Thomas E. Bingham, President
136 East south Temple, Suite 1740
Salt Lake City, Utah 84111-1134
Phone: (801) 363-3885
Email: [email protected]
Web site:

Partners in Business Home Page Jon M. Huntsman School of Business